Loved “The Girl On The Train”? Try these…

Reading is one of my true loves; no matter how tired I am, or what time I go to bed, I will always pick up my Kindle and read at least a few pages. And I am rather partial to the psychological thriller books that, since “Gone Girl”, “The Girl on The Train” and other novels of that ilk, have exploded in popularity.

They are often accompanied by the same promotional spiel – usually along the lines of “A GRIPPING page-turner, full of HUNDREDS OF TWISTS you just WON’T SEE COMING.”  Trouble is, there’s a lot of rubbish out there. Stupid, over the top twists that lack any sense of reality, badly drawn characters and thoroughly disappointing endings.

Well, here are three psychological thrillers I thought were pretty good. They’re well written, suspenseful and I really couldn’t put them down. So if you like that genre, you might want to check these out:

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

It’s a few years old now (released in 2011), but this book has stuck with me and remains one of my favourite thrillers. This is a story of domestic abuse and obsession that creeps up on you slowly but chillingly. Genuinely terrifying at times, Haynes explores the dark corners of a toxic relationship and the deterioration of a young woman’s mental health at the hands of her partner.

Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant

The narrator of this novel, Paul Morris, is self centred, superior and generally rather unpleasant. Paul’s visit to a Charing Cross bookshop one day reconnects him with an old acquaintance and sets off a chain of events that he could never possibly have forseen. He ingratiates himself into a circle of friends for his own self-serving needs, virtually inviting himself on their holiday to Greece. Lies unfold aplenty, and Paul finds the ground beneath him isn’t as solid as he thought.

When She Was Bad by Tammy Cohen

This is my most recent read, and it lost me some sleep. I swore I would read only til 10.30pm. Then 11pm. Then midnight. The narrative is split between the present day (revolving around the lives of staff at a recruitment office) and the past (a US psychologist reflecting on a deeply troubling child abuse case she dealt with years ago). It is clear early on that a crime has been committed, which has caused the psychologist to re-immerse herself in the details of her case. I found the stark contrast between past and present intriguing – what could one possibly have to do with another? There’s quite a cast of characters, but Cohen skilfully moulds them all into believable, three dimensional individuals. The question is, who committed the crime?

Can you recommend any brilliant page-turners? I’d love to hear them!

4 thoughts on “Loved “The Girl On The Train”? Try these…

  1. Kajal Allen says:

    I will be looking these up, it’s always great to be recommended a good book. I loved Room by Emma Donaghue, about a woman was held in captivity in a small room, she makes it a pleasant world for her 5 year old son, but it’s really just a small room. A real page turner. The film was fairly big hit, but i loved the book much more.
    Not a book, but have you been watching the TV series ‘The Missing’? Its a fantastic BBC drama serial, series one is surpassing series 2, but both are excellent drama/mystery/twisted tales all unfolding and just great story telling with brill characters.
    And one last one, a one-off drama that was BBC3 years ago, that reminded my of the topic you described in your first book in the list- have you seen ‘Murdered by my boyfriend’?

    Like

    • theidentitythieves says:

      Ooh I loved Room, and I’m also a big fan of The Missing too (agree that whilst S2 is very good, it’s not a patch on the first!!) I wonder how on earth they structure the writing of it, all the twists and turns through the years. Haven’t seen the last one, but so remember reading about it. Thanks so much for the recommendations! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

