Dear CBeebies – It’s Not You, It’s Me.

Dearest CBeebies,

I love you.

I wanted to start by saying that, just so you know I truly mean it. You are a beacon of light, a chance to drink tea, a break from the ridiculous role play demands of my toddler. There is nothing offensive about your programming; it is innocent, endearing and often educational.

You’ve never let me down. (Although there was that guilt-inducing promo you ran over summer featuring kids having the best fun in a forest and singing about how good it is to be outside in the fresh air. Cheers for that).

Anyway, to get to the point…… we need a break.

I’m sorry to have to deal you this blow, I really am. And I want you to know – it’s not you, it’s me. I became too reliant on you, CBeebies; I used you as a crutch and it was becoming a toxic relationship.

It was just too easy to turn to you. Yes, I got a lot of stuff done. Yes, I ended up rather enjoying a bit of Jamillah and Aladdin myself (especially the genie…ahem). But too much of  a good thing can just be plain bad for you.

genie

Genie, I’ll miss you in particular.

No longer can I go to bed with the Topsy and Tim theme tune scratching itself into my brain on a loop. I cannot keep bribing my children with extra Twirlywoos time. And I can no longer be so familiar with your scheduling that I could look at my watch at any given moment and just know what you’d be showing.

I got in too deep. I’m sorry. It’s my fault.

So that’s why you won’t be seeing me for a while. Once my attempts at crafting and exploring the outdoors ‘no matter the weather’ have driven me to breaking point, I’ll be back – of this I have no doubt. And you’ll welcome me with open arms, I’m sure – because that’s just how you are.

With love,

Lizzie @ TheID_Thieves xxx

Mummuddlingthrough
11 thoughts on “Dear CBeebies – It’s Not You, It’s Me.

  1. No Manual to Mummy says:

    I’m so guilty of this. I have a love hate relationship. BUT i agree. I sometimes need to just switch off and go outside. But being 21 weeks pregnant and it being 0 degrees outside, cbeebies is a comfort to me haha! We are all human, lovely to read I’m not the only one who has these thoughts #coolmumclub

    Like

  2. absolutely prabulous says:

    The bit about looking at your watch and the crafting! Oh how I missed CBeebies the first few years of living in Malta because we obviously couldn’t get UK channels here. We could probably stream it (ssssshhhh) but my babies are no longer babies now. It would be just me watching! #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

    • theidentitythieves says:

      Do you know…I reckon once mine have outgrown it, I’d have a sneaky watch myself. There’s something so comforting and innocent about it all (apart from night garden, which makes me feel like I’ve had a kind of breakdown). Thanks for reading! X

      Like

  3. Manny says:

    Snap! I am exactly the same – also guilty of loving Cbeebies too much. I can’t give it up just yet, especially with two kids now – it’s become my saviour. Well done for getting away from the box! I’m sure the kids will enjoy the outdoors much more. 🙂 #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

